Accountability Review in Yemen: Humanitarian assistance and resilience building | Climate Resilience | Oxfam

Please download to get full document.

View again

of 2
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
Information Report
Category:

Documents

Published:

Views: 7 | Pages: 2

Extension: PDF | Download: 0

Share
Related documents
Description
This accountability review is presented as part of the Effectiveness Review Series 2014/15. The report documents the findings from a review carried out in December 2014 which examines the degree to which Oxfam meets its own standards for accountability. The project
Transcript
  EFFECTIVENESS REVIEW SERIES ‘enhancing effectiveness through evidence-based learning’   Accountability Reviews seek evidence for perceptions of, and make judgments about, the degree to which a project meets Oxfam’s standards for accountability. This is with regards to both Oxfam’s mutual accountability in our partnerships, and Oxfam and partners’ shared accountability to those it works on behalf of. For details on evaluation design, see the ‘How are effectiveness reviews carried out?’ document, and the full report for how these designs were tailored by individual reviews. Evaluation Design Project date: August 2013 - July 2015Evaluation: December 2014Publication: March 2017The project ‘’Humanitarian Assistance and Resilience Building in Western Yemen’’ is a two-year project supporting vulnerable communities in Al-Hodeidah and Hajjah governorates. Oxfam and its partners aim to build resilience and provide humanitarian assistance to men, women and children, contributing to reducing the impact of chronic poverty, natural hazards and conict by: 1. Working to increase the capacity and equality of men and women’s access to resources that will help them cope with shocks and stresses 2. Improving community-based disaster preparedness that is supported by responsive governance and civil society3. Improving the management and the sustainable use of scarce water resources4. Increased and equitable access to basic services5. Supporting targeted communities, humanitarian stakeholders and national and local decision makers to increase their knowledge and coordination of how to develop effective and gender sensitive programs addressing disaster response, mitigation and resilience.The project is working in 42 selected villages in Al-Hodeidah and Hajja governorates with integrated Water, Sanitation and Hygiene activities, unconditional cash transfers, cash for work, food security and livelihoods interventions, and disaster risk reduction, leading to integrated development and a more focused and sustainable impact. Oxfam and its partners work directly with the beneciary communities throughout the project cycle. The project involves close coordination with the rural water authority, the Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation, Social Welfare Fund, Social Fund for Development and other relevant stakeholders. To ensure a community driven process the project is seeking to establish or strengthen existing water management committees, and agricultural and livelihoods groups. Humanitarian assistance and resilience building  Accountability Yemen2014/15 EFFECTIVENESS REVIEW SERIES 2014/15: AFGHANISTAN BANGLADESH CAMBODIA CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLICCHAD ETHIOPIA LEBANON NICARAGUA PAKISTAN PHILIPPINES PHILIPPINES (humanitarian) POLICY & PRACTICE WEBSITE SOMALIA SOUTH SUDAN   TANZANIA THAILAND UGANDA YEMEN  Full version of this report and more information can be found at Oxfam’s Policy and Practice website: www.oxfam.org.uk/effectiveness For more information, contact Oxfam’s Programme Quality Team - opalenquiries@oxfam.org.uk Key Commitments ã Oxfam and partners will hold a reection workshop to sensitize our staff about our responsibility to be accountable in our partnerships - this will improve our working relationships and promote dialogue between Oxfam and partners. ã The partnership strategy will be revised to promote the participation of partners (and therefore communities) and to improve information sharing. ã Oxfam will set up a feedback mechanism between itself and partners which ensures that the feedback loop is closed (complaints get dealt with and this is communicated appropriately) and responses are timely. ã The partnership strategy will examine how to expand Oxfam’s partnership portfolio beyond existing partners. Results ‘I remember, when the agricultural land was damaged by oods, we informed Oxfam staff who responded and action was taken immediately’   Male Key Informant Interview ‘there’s irregular communications and meeting’  ‘Everybody beneted from the project’   Female Key Informant Interview ‘they (Oxfam Al-Hodeidah staff) didn’t ask us to contribute to any key decision related to project planning or any activities’ during Oxfam accountability to partners questionnaire workshopOxfam’s accountability to partnersOxfam and partners’ accountability to communities 1234 ScoreOxfam/Partner  Review team Community3.52.52Oxfam/Partner  Review team Community3.53.23Oxfam/Partner  Review team Community33.43Oxfam/Partner  Review team Community3.33.12.7 1234 ScoreOxfam Review team Partner 31.52Oxfam Review team Partner 32.53Oxfam Review team Partner 2.523Oxfam Review team Partner 2.822.7TransparencyFeedbackParticipation Overall Accountability Quotes from project participants have shown their appreciation on attitude of Oxfam staff:Oxfam to partners - participation.  A partner staff member, seconded to Oxfam said: Photo credit: Anwar Hajeb/Oxfam Oxfam to partners - participation.  A partner executive member commented:   Community satisfaction related to the question:‘How useful is the project to people?’ ‘Oxfam staff always encouraged our efforts and they do their best to clarify any confusion, one of the beneciaries was annoyed as they took his name out of Cash for Work list. Then Oxfam staff explained the reason as his wife is already on the list of Cash for Work too, and it’s not allowed for couple to be in the same list’ Focus Group Discussion – Male group ‘Our village becomes clean because of cutting the prickly trees. Our houses as well because of health sessions. Oxfam generate income for poor people’   Focus Group Discussion – Female group ‘I got vocational training in mobile phone maintenance,  people from my village and the neighbours come to my house to x their mobiles’   Male Key Informant Interview
Recommended
View more...
We Need Your Support
Thank you for visiting our website and your interest in our free products and services. We are nonprofit website to share and download documents. To the running of this website, we need your help to support us.

Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

No, Thanks